Career guide

Creative Curriculum Studies List (and How Teachers Run One)

Founder, ChildcareHires
October 2026 5 min read

At a glance

Vendor of The Creative Curriculum for Preschool

Publisher

Teaching Strategies

Per the vendor's product page

Ages (preschool edition)

3- and 4-year-olds

The vendor's description

Built on

Play-based studies

Our research captured components, not titles — see the list below

Study titles our research captured

None

Teaching Strategies' product page describes The Creative Curriculum for Preschool as a curriculum for 3- and 4-year-olds, built on play-based studies — but no study names turned up in the sources our research captured.

So here is the honest version of the list question: what a study is, what we could and could not verify, and how teachers run one over its weeks.

What is a study?

On the vendor's own description, studies are the organizing idea of the curriculum: Teaching Strategies describes The Creative Curriculum for Preschool as built on play-based studies, with components that include a Curriculum Guide, 9 Teaching Guides and 7 Foundation Volumes.

Studies are not an add-on to the product — they are the structure the vendor says the product is built on.

The working idea for a teacher: a study is one topic the class investigates over a stretch of time, with the room's play hanging from it.

In that picture, blocks, dramatic play, art and the outdoor yard each get materials and questions that connect back to the topic, so what children choose to do keeps feeding the same investigation instead of scattering across unrelated activities.

What our research did not capture is the detail behind the idea: how many studies there are, what they are called, or the order a year moves through them — that gap is what the next section takes apart.

The curriculum itself — its publisher, its components and the same publisher's assessment — is covered in the Creative Curriculum guide.

This page stays on the studies.

Looking for preschool teacher jobs? Browse open positions →

List of studies

Here is the direct answer to the list question: our research captured no study titles.

What we captured from the product page describes The Creative Curriculum for Preschool at the level of components — a Curriculum Guide, 9 Teaching Guides and 7 Foundation Volumes — with no names for the studies those guides support.

The 9 Teaching Guides invite one tempting shortcut, so resist it: our research did not capture whether one guide equals one study, so a guide count is not a study count.

What each guide is called, and what it covers, is a detail our research did not reach.

The authoritative list lives in two places: Teaching Strategies' own current product materials, and the guides on the shelf in the classroom you teach — or interview — in.

Asking which studies the classrooms are working through this year is a fair, well-informed interview question; it shows you know studies are the unit the curriculum runs on.

Treat any list you meet secondhand — in a blog post, a planning group, the text of a job posting — as something to confirm rather than cite.

The product page our research captured does not state which edition it describes, so a title that matched one program's materials may not match what the center you are talking to bought.

Why no list appears here

Our research reads public sources, and the public source it captured for this curriculum is the vendor's own product page. What it captured describes the product's components, not the study titles, and the page does not state an edition number. Any more specific list is worth checking against the vendor's current materials or the center's own guides.

How a study runs over weeks

Start with the limit: our research captured no length for a study.

No "a study runs this many weeks" figure turned up in the sources we read, the product page included — so any specific number you meet, in a forum or a planning guide, is something to check against the center's materials rather than take as the curriculum's rule.

What we can describe is the work as play-based teaching generally runs it, not the curriculum's own steps.

A study gives the week a through-line: you introduce the topic to the whole group, stock the interest areas with materials that connect to it, and then watch what children do with those materials — because what they do decides what you put out next.

Small groups let you go deeper with a few children at a time, and the outdoor yard and transitions extend the same question instead of dropping it.

In the moment, the extension happens through exchanges.

Harvard's Center on the Developing Child describes serve and return as responsive back-and-forth exchanges between a young child and a caring adult that shape brain architecture — the child offers a word, a question or a build, and the adult returns something that keeps the play moving.

Across the weeks of a study, that return is where the investigation deepens.

There is a paper trail too.

Where a program runs Teaching Strategies GOLD — the company's online observational assessment for children from birth through third grade, rated against research-based objectives it cites at 38 — the observations you make during study play are what feed it, and its checkpoint reports show which children are below, at or above widely held expectations.

The Teaching Strategies GOLD guide covers that workflow.

And the through-line becomes written plans: turning a study into a week on paper is its own job, covered in the Creative Curriculum lesson plans guide.

Adapting studies

Whoever wrote the guide, the specific children in the room shape where a study goes — and there is a named framework for making those calls.

NAEYC's position statement on developmentally appropriate practice (2020) says each child from birth through age 8 has the right to equitable learning opportunities in centers, family child care homes or schools, and names three core considerations for the decisions that deliver it: commonality in children's development and learning, individuality, and the context in which development and learning occur.

Read those three as an adaptation checklist for any study.

Commonality: what is common in the development and learning of children this age — the level the study is pitched at.

Individuality: the specific children in your room, whose questions should bend the investigation away from the guide's example.

Context: your setting and community, which decide what the topic can look like where you teach.

In practice the moves are small and concrete: swap materials when the play stalls, follow a question the class actually asked, and scale the topic to what your families and neighborhood offer.

Keep one boundary in mind too — the product our research captured is the preschool edition, which the vendor describes for 3- and 4-year-olds, so adaptation happens inside that band, not across every age.

Where this fits in the job: in a program that runs this curriculum, studies are the day-to-day shape of teaching — so if a posting names it, be ready to describe a study you have carried.

The preschool teacher career guide covers the role itself — settings, requirements and pay — and open preschool teacher jobs show what centers near you are asking for right now.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many studies are in the Creative Curriculum?

Our research captured component counts, not a study count: Teaching Strategies' product page lists a Curriculum Guide, 9 Teaching Guides and 7 Foundation Volumes for The Creative Curriculum for Preschool, and our research did not capture how many studies the product includes — or whether one guide equals one study.

The vendor's current materials, or the guides in your center's classrooms, are the authoritative count.

How long does a Creative Curriculum study last?

No length turned up in the sources our research captured, the vendor's product page included.

The captured source does not settle a class's calendar — how long a room stays with a study is the program's call.

Ask how the year is mapped out when you interview.

Are Creative Curriculum studies the same as themes?

The vendor's own word for the product's structure is studies — it describes The Creative Curriculum for Preschool as built on play-based studies; "themes" did not turn up in what our research captured.

As this page uses the words, a theme is the label on a stretch of activities, while a study is an investigation the class keeps returning to as the play develops.

Either way, ask the center how its rooms plan.

What ages are Creative Curriculum studies for?

The product our research captured is The Creative Curriculum for Preschool, which Teaching Strategies' page describes as a curriculum for 3- and 4-year-olds.

Our research did not capture the product line's other editions, so if a posting names the curriculum for an infant, toddler or older room, ask the center which edition its classrooms use.

Related Career Guides

Find your next preschool teacher role on a board that lists only early-education jobs.