No — they are two different programs that happen to share a name.
The federal TEACH Grant pays future teachers up to $4,000 a year to commit to four years teaching a high-need field in a low-income elementary or secondary school — child care center work does not satisfy the obligation.
The other program, T.E.A.C.H. (Teacher Education And Compensation Helps) Early Childhood, is a cost-shared scholarship run state by state for the child care workforce that pays most tuition costs and adds a raise or bonus once the required coursework is finished.
What is the federal TEACH Grant?
The TEACH Grant is a program of the U.S. Department of Education: its rules, amounts and eligibility are published on studentaid.gov, the federal student aid site.
It pays up to $4,000 a year to students who are preparing to teach and will commit to a service obligation in exchange for the money.
Awards first disbursed between Oct 1, 2020 and Oct 1, 2026 are cut 5.7% by sequestration, to $3,772 — the program page did not show a sequestration rate for disbursements after that window, so check studentaid.gov for the figure that applies to you.
Eligibility starts with the program you enroll in, not the job you hold.
TEACH Grant-eligible programs lead to a bachelor's or master's degree, or are postbaccalaureate; a two-year program counts only if it is accepted for full credit toward a bachelor's.
Students generally need a GPA of at least 3.25 or a test score above the 75th percentile.
The obligation is the heart of the program.
Recipients must teach full-time for four elementary or secondary school years in a high-need field at a school or educational service agency serving low-income students, finishing within eight years of leaving school.
The schools and agencies that qualify are listed in the annual Teacher Cancellation Low-Income (TCLI) Directory.
Miss the obligation and the money changes character: all TEACH Grants convert to Direct Unsubsidized Loans, with interest charged from the date of each disbursement.
This is where childcare careers fall out of the program.
Service has to happen at an elementary or secondary school or an educational service agency, so working at a child care center does not satisfy it.
Whether teaching pre-K inside a TCLI-listed elementary school counts was not stated on the program page — ask Federal Student Aid before relying on it.
What is T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood?
T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood — Teacher Education And Compensation Helps — has run since 1990 as a cost-shared scholarship that ties education to pay and retention.
In the national model, a scholarship pays most of the cost of tuition, books and travel, often requires and supports paid release time, and awards a raise or bonus once the required credit hours are finished.
It is run state by state, not by the federal government.
As of October 2026, the T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood National Center listed T.E.A.C.H. programs in 21 states, and the National Center itself is a division of Early Years, formerly Child Care Services Association, in North Carolina.
Every scholarship also carries a commitment: after the raise or bonus arrives, you commit to staying in your child care setting for a period each state program sets.
The design difference is the whole disambiguation.
The federal TEACH Grant attaches a teaching job to the money; T.E.A.C.H. attaches money and coursework to the child care job.
The two programs answer different plans, and a name search alone can send you to the wrong one.
The state-by-state detail — eligibility, cost shares, employer sponsorship, contacts — is walked through in our T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood scholarship guide.
Side-by-side comparison
The two programs share a name and almost nothing else.
Everything in the table comes from the two program pages as read in October 2026: studentaid.gov for the federal grant, the T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood National Center for the state model.
| Federal TEACH Grant | T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood | |
|---|---|---|
| Who runs it | U.S. Department of Education — rules, amounts and eligibility on studentaid.gov | State programs; the T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood National Center, a division of Early Years (formerly Child Care Services Association) in North Carolina, keeps the national directory |
| Who it is for | Students in programs that lead to a bachelor's or master's degree, or postbaccalaureate programs; a two-year program only if accepted for full credit toward a bachelor's | The child care workforce — the cost-shared model runs through the recipient's child care setting |
| Academic bar | Generally a GPA of at least 3.25, or a test score above the 75th percentile | Not stated on the National Center's model page — check your state program's terms |
| Money | Up to $4,000 a year; $3,772 for awards first disbursed Oct 1, 2020 – Oct 1, 2026, after the 5.7% sequestration cut | Most of the cost of tuition, books and travel |
| What you get at the end | A grant that stays a grant only if the service obligation is completed | A raise or bonus once the required credit hours are done |
| The string attached | Four full-time elementary or secondary school years in a high-need field at a school or educational service agency serving low-income students, within eight years of leaving school | Stay in your child care setting for a period the state program sets |
| Does child care center work count? | No — service must be at an elementary or secondary school or educational service agency listed in the TCLI Directory | Yes — the model is built around work in a child care setting |
| Where it applies | Schools and educational service agencies nationwide that appear in the TCLI Directory | The 21 states that had programs as of October 2026 |
One difference the table holds without a row: what happens when the commitment fails.
On the federal side it is explicit — an unmet obligation converts every TEACH Grant to a Direct Unsubsidized Loan, with interest counted from the date of each disbursement.
The National Center's model page does not say what happens if a T.E.A.C.H. recipient leaves before the stay commitment ends, so the state program's contract is the place to read that term.
Which one should a childcare worker apply for?
If the plan is more education — coursework and credit hours — while you keep working in child care, T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood is the program built for that plan: cost-shared tuition, often paid release time, and a raise or bonus at the end, with the coursework tied to the job.
The first question is whether your state runs one; 21 states did as of October 2026, and the National Center's directory doubles as the contact sheet for each program.
The federal TEACH Grant fits a different plan: enrolling in a program that leads to a bachelor's or master's, with the intention of teaching full-time in a high-need field at an elementary or secondary school or educational service agency serving low-income students.
A center teacher weighing a move into public school teaching can have a real use for it.
Treat the obligation as seriously as the money — miss it, and the grants become loans with interest counted from each disbursement.
And if the hope was to use the federal grant to fund a child care career itself, the program is not built for it: service at a child care center does not satisfy the obligation, and the TEACH Grant has no connection to T.E.A.C.H. Early Childhood beyond the name.
This page is career information, not licensing or legal advice; confirm current program terms with Federal Student Aid (studentaid.gov) and with your state's T.E.A.C.H. program before you apply.
Confirm the current rules before you apply

