Career guide

Maine Early Childhood Workforce Salary Supplement

Founder, ChildcareHires
October 2026 10 min read

At a glance

Tier 1 stipend (MRTQ Levels 1–4)

$240 a month

Tier 2 stipend (MRTQ Levels 5–6)

$360 a month

Tier 3 stipend (MRTQ Levels 7–8)

$540 a month

Per the OCFS program page, read October 2026

Registry Level 0

Not eligible

Maine's Early Childhood Educator Workforce Salary Supplement pays eligible childcare staff a monthly stipend keyed to their MRTQ Registry level: $240 a month at Levels 1–4, $360 at Levels 5–6 and $540 at Levels 7–8.

Staff recorded at Level 0 are not eligible for the payment.

Stipends are paid through licensed programs, and family child care providers, owners and directors can qualify alongside other early childhood staff.

What the Early Childhood Educator Workforce Salary Supplement is

The Early Childhood Educator Workforce Salary Supplement is Maine's salary supplement for the early childhood workforce.

If you have seen it called the Maine childcare stipend, this is that program.

It runs under the Maine Department of Health and Human Services' Office of Child and Family Services (OCFS), and it adds a monthly stipend to the pay of eligible childcare staff on top of the wages their program already pays.

The program page describes the stipends as paid through licensed programs, keyed to each staff member's MRTQ Registry level.

Two features set it apart from the bonus-style programs other states run.

It recurs monthly rather than arriving as a one-time payment, and the amount follows the person: the tier amounts attach to the MRTQ Registry level each staff member holds, so two people in the same building can land in different tiers.

The MRTQ Registry is Maine's early childhood workforce registry, and your status in it decides both whether you qualify and which tier pays.

Our research capture comes from the OCFS program page as we read it in October 2026.

It covers the payment tiers, the registry eligibility line and the staff groups the program names; it does not cover application steps, deadlines or the program's budget history.

Where this page hits one of those gaps it says so and points you to OCFS rather than guessing.

Amounts and rules change — confirm with OCFS

Every Maine figure on this page is what the OCFS program page published when we read it in October 2026. Supplement programs get revised, and Maine's is no exception — confirm the current tier schedule and eligibility rules with the Office of Child and Family Services before you budget around a payment.
Looking for a childcare teacher job? Browse open positions →

Who qualifies for the Maine salary supplement

Two things decide eligibility as the program page reads today: where you work and where you stand in the MRTQ Registry.

On the work side, eligibility includes staff employed by a licensed facility or family child care program that holds — or has applied for — an OCFS vendor code.

Family child care is explicitly in: the page names family child care providers, owners and directors among eligible staff, so this is not a center-only benefit.

On the registry side, the tier schedule runs from Level 1 to Level 8 of the MRTQ Registry, and staff recorded at Level 0 are not eligible for the payment.

Registry status at a tiered level is therefore more than paperwork here — it is the eligibility line and the pay scale at once.

If you have not joined the MRTQ Registry yet, that is the first door; once you hold a tiered level, moving up is what raises the monthly amount.

Read together, the practical sequence is: check that your program's OCFS standing is in place, then check your own registry level.

The program page we read lists these eligibility elements but is not an exhaustive checklist of every condition — confirm the full current criteria with OCFS.

Registry levels are also easier to read once you know the qualifications baseline; our guide to staff requirements in each state explains the framework those rules sit in.

How much the supplement pays

The stipend schedule has three tiers, and the tier is set by MRTQ Registry level:

TierMRTQ Registry levelMonthly stipend
Tier 1Levels 1–4$240
Tier 2Levels 5–6$360
Tier 3Levels 7–8$540

Level 0 sits below the schedule, which is why registry membership at a numbered level matters as much as the dollar amounts.

The tiers are flat monthly amounts per level band, so what moves your payment is your registry level — not a new title or a new room on its own.

For scale: in the May 2025 BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics survey, childcare workers (SOC 39-9011) in Maine earned a median of $17.47 an hour.

That is the federal series covering many center assistants and lead teachers, and a recurring monthly stipend is a real addition to base pay like that.

It is a payment layered on top of your wages, though — the tier schedule, not your wage rate, sets the amount.

How to apply or renew

This is where our research runs thinnest, so it is where you should lean on OCFS directly.

The program page we read sets out the tiers and the eligibility elements above; our capture did not include application forms, deadlines, a portal or a renewal calendar.

Those details are absent from this page because we could not verify them — not because they do not exist.

Two verified mechanics shape your first moves.

Stipends are paid through licensed programs, and eligibility turns on a facility or family child care program that holds — or has applied for — an OCFS vendor code.

If you are on staff, your first question goes to your director or owner: whether the program is set up with OCFS, and how the stipend reaches staff.

If you are an owner or director, the OCFS program page and its contacts are the starting point for vendor code and enrollment questions.

The same caution applies to renewal.

A monthly payment implies an ongoing arrangement, but whether Maine requires an annual re-application, refreshed registry documentation or nothing at all was not stated on the pages we read.

Ask before you assume — and keep your MRTQ Registry record current regardless, because your level is what sets the tier.

Taxes and timing

On timing, the verified detail is the cadence: stipends are paid monthly, through licensed programs, at the amount your tier sets.

What our research did not capture is a payment calendar — the date in the month, the program's start date, or what happens to the amount if your registry level changes mid-year.

Those are program-mechanics questions for OCFS.

On taxes, the program pages we read state nothing about how the stipend is reported.

Silence is not an answer in either direction: it means the question is unresolved in our research, not that the payment is tax-free.

One program in this family does flag it — Georgia's DECAL notes that its $500 Quality Rated Workforce Bonus may be taxable.

Ask the OCFS contacts on Maine's program page how the payment is issued and reported, keep any letters or forms it generates, and put your specific situation to a tax professional before you file.

No tax guidance on this page

We cannot tell you whether Maine's stipend is taxable in your situation — the program pages we read do not state how it is reported. Ask the program administrator, and confirm with a tax professional before you file.

Similar programs in other states

Maine is not the only state putting program money directly into early educators' pay.

The designs differ — monthly stipends, six-month checks, one-time bonuses, salary floors and tax credits — but the shared idea is putting program money into the pay of early educators who stay in the classroom.

The closest cousins:

  • North Carolina — Child Care WAGE$. Education-based salary supplements for teachers, directors and family child care providers working with children birth to 5 in participating counties, paid after each completed six-month commitment period at the same program. Early Years reports an average six-month supplement of $1,285 — our WAGE$ guide has the eligibility details.
  • Illinois — Great START. A wage supplement paid by check every six months to practitioners with college coursework who stay with the same employer; you must work at least 15 hours a week, earn no more than $24.00 an hour and $49,920 a year, and hold Gateways Registry membership.
  • New Mexico — Early Childhood Wage Supplement. Education-based supplements paid twice a year, in January and June, to educators in licensed or registered home programs, Head Start and Early Head Start, or community-based NM PreK classrooms. Applicants need at least 20 hours a week and at least 3 ECE credit hours or a CDA (or enrollment toward one); the level scale runs from Level 1 to Level 9. One wrinkle to check: the ECECD page still caps eligibility at $16 or less per hour, while the program administrator's site says less than $18 an hour.
  • Connecticut — Qualified Workforce Incentive. Awards up to $2,600 — a $250–$2,000 base award set by employment status plus up to $600 in bonuses — through the OEC Registry, funded by the federal Preschool Development Grant. Connecticut's separate one-time $2,800 Wage Supplement Program closed June 30, 2025, a reminder that these programs end.

Two other designs show the range.

Minnesota pays programs rather than individuals: Great Start Compensation Support Payments go out based on full-time-equivalent caregiving staff, and licensed centers must spend them on increased compensation, benefits, premium pay or related payroll taxes for staff who regularly care for children.

Washington, DC's Pay Equity Fund works as a salary floor instead: participating facilities must pay minimum salaries by role and credential (OSSE can approve waivers), and those minimums were reduced effective January 1, 2026 — our DC Pay Equity Fund guide carries the current figures.

Bonuses and tax credits sit at the other ends of the spectrum.

Pennsylvania's 2025-26 CCSRR program paid a one-time $450 retention bonus to qualified staff, with all funds required to be spent by June 30, 2026 and no 2026-27 round found in our research.

Georgia's Quality Rated Workforce Bonus, by contrast, recurs: $500 a year — one per staff member — for eligible teachers and support staff at 1-, 2- or 3-star Quality Rated programs who work 30 or more hours a week (15 or more for school-age-only programs) and have at least 90 days at the program.

And a few states deliver the money through the tax system: Colorado's Early Childhood Educator Income Tax Credit paid $852 to $1,705 for tax year 2024 depending on credential level, and Nebraska's refundable School Readiness Tax Credit is set by statute at $2,300 to $3,500 by Nebraska Early Childhood Professional Record System level, CPI-adjusted from tax year 2025 and subject to an aggregate cap — our educator tax credit guide covers who qualifies.

These programs open, close and reprice — Connecticut's supplement has closed and DC's minimums have been reduced — so confirm current details with each administrator before you rely on them.

Our roundup of state wage supplements and bonuses keeps the full program-by-program list, including the ones that have ended.

And if you are weighing Maine against other markets, browsing open childcare teacher jobs shows which centers are hiring near you.

Career information, not licensing, legal or tax advice. The tier amounts, eligibility rules and program details on this page are what Maine's Office of Child and Family Services and the other named administrators published when we read them in October 2026 — confirm current details with each administrator before you rely on them.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is the Maine childcare stipend per month?

Maine's Early Childhood Educator Workforce Salary Supplement pays $240 a month at MRTQ Registry Levels 1–4, $360 a month at Levels 5–6 and $540 a month at Levels 7–8.

The tier follows your registry level, and staff recorded at Level 0 are not eligible.

The figures are what the OCFS program page published when we read it in October 2026 — confirm the current schedule with OCFS.

Do you need to be in the MRTQ Registry to get the Maine salary supplement?

The tier schedule runs on MRTQ Registry levels 1 through 8, and the program page states that staff recorded at Level 0 are not eligible.

Registry status at a tiered level is therefore the eligibility line as well as the pay scale.

How newly hired staff are handled while a registry application is still in progress was not stated on the pages we read — ask OCFS or your program before you count on a first payment.

Are family child care providers and daycare directors eligible in Maine?

Yes, as the program page reads: eligible staff includes family child care providers, owners and directors of programs.

Eligibility includes staff employed by a licensed facility or family child care program that holds — or has applied for — an OCFS vendor code.

Your own stipend amount still depends on your MRTQ Registry level under the same three-tier schedule.

Is the Maine salary supplement paid monthly or as a lump sum?

Monthly.

The program page describes stipends paid through licensed programs at each tier's monthly amount, so the payment recurs through the year rather than arriving as one check.

Details such as the payment calendar and whether re-application is required each year were not covered on the pages we read — confirm the mechanics with Maine OCFS.

Related Career Guides

Browse open childcare teacher jobs at centers and preschools hiring near you.