One CDA book is a stated requirement for the credential, and one only sounds required.
The Council for Professional Recognition requires every candidate applying for an initial CDA credential to purchase the CDA Competency Standards book, in the setting of their work with children.
The Essentials for Working with Young Children textbook is the Council's study resource for the exam — useful, but not a stated requirement.
Here is which book does what, the version for your setting, and what buying one involves.
Which book is required?
The required purchase is the CDA Competency Standards book.
The Council for Professional Recognition's own candidate materials state it directly: all candidates applying for an initial CDA credential are required to purchase a Competency Standards book in the setting of their work with children.
The Essentials textbook, despite its name, is not the book that requirement points at.
The requirement has teeth because the credential often does.
Some states and employers require childcare workers to hold a nationally recognized credential, most often the CDA, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics — so when a posting asks for one, it is worth reading how individual centers word the requirement in childcare teacher jobs listings.
And the standards book is the reference the rest of your application leans on: the professional portfolio has defined parts — education documentation, Family Questionnaires, the Reflective Statements of Competence, resources and a professional philosophy statement.
Some of its details, such as how many Family Questionnaires must come back, are specified in the Competency Standards book rather than on the Council's web pages.
The book also settles disputes between web pages.
On first aid and CPR documentation for the initial credential, the Council FAQ pages we read disagree — we could not confirm which list is current.
The PD Specialist FAQ lists current first aid and CPR certification among the portfolio items, while the main candidate FAQ and the setting pages do not list it as an initial eligibility item.
Where the pages conflict, the current Competency Standards book is the reference to check.
CDA Essentials book vs CDA Competency Standards book
The confusion is built into the names: "Essentials" sounds like the required purchase, but the Council's requirement language is attached to the other book.
Side by side:
- CDA Competency Standards book — required. Every initial candidate must purchase it, in the setting of their work with children. It is the credential's setting-specific reference: portfolio details the Council's web pages do not publish — like the Family Questionnaire minimum — are specified in it, and it is the document to check where Council pages conflict.
- Essentials for Working with Young Children — the Council's study resource. The Council's Essentials Study Guide Bundle pairs the textbook with the Essentials Workbook, which carries sample test questions, and the Council describes the textbook as addressing every question on the exam. It is exam preparation, and not stated as mandatory.
So the split is application versus preparation.
The Competency Standards book goes on the required list, in the version for your setting.
The Essentials bundle is for the study months before the exam — worth considering because it is the Council's own material, and optional as far as the Council's published requirements go.
CDA book by setting: preschool, infant-toddler and the other versions
As of October 2026 the Council offers the CDA in five settings, and each setting has its own Competency Standards book — the required purchase is the book for the setting of your work with children.
The Council's materials color-code them:
| CDA setting | Ages covered | Competency Standards book |
|---|---|---|
| Center-based Preschool | Ages 3 to 5 | Green |
| Center-based Infant-Toddler | Birth to 36 months | Yellow |
| Center-based Birth to Five | Birth to 5 years | Magenta |
| Family Child Care | Birth to 5, in a home | Blue |
| Home Visitor | Not stated in the pages we read | Purple |
The setting matters as much as the color, because your application sits inside it: candidates need 480 hours of professional work experience in the credential's setting and age group, within 3 years before applying.
The book and the hours follow the same logic — buy the version that matches the room you actually work in.
Two rows work differently. Birth to Five is the fifth setting, for center educators who work with children from birth through age 5 rather than in one age room; its 480 experience hours must include at least 160 hours in each of three sub-age groups — infants, toddlers and preschoolers. Home Visitor candidates follow their own process, with a different set of subject areas and a portfolio still reviewed onsite by a PD Specialist rather than uploaded.
Which setting fits your work is its own decision; our guide to the CDA credential types compares all five.
CDA book: print vs digital
Here our research reaches its limit: the Council's store pages were not accessible when we read them in October 2026, so we cannot confirm which formats the Competency Standards book or the Essentials bundle are sold in — print, digital, or both.
Check the Council's store for the formats offered for your setting's edition before you plan around one.
What the Council does publish is the digital shape of everything around the books.
Applications are made online through the Council's YourCouncil system, and the awarded credential arrives as a digital certificate and badge through Credly, with a printed certificate available for $30 if you want paper.
The books are the input; the credential itself comes back digital-first.
Whichever format you buy, check that it is the current edition for your setting.
The standards book is the reference for the credential's requirements, and the Council changed parts of the credentialing process as recently as February 2026 — an older edition or an older checklist can point you at requirements that no longer apply.
CDA book price and where to buy
Prices first, honestly: the Council requires the Competency Standards book purchase, but its store pages were not accessible when we researched this page, so book prices are unverified.
Check the Council's store for the current price of your setting's edition, and confirm any book price you see quoted elsewhere against the Council before you budget around it.
What is published is the fee side of the credential, and the books sit on top of it.
The Council charges an initial assessment fee of $525 at application — non-refundable and non-transferable — and renewal costs $250 every three years.
The rest of the fee stack — application, renewal and extras — is in our guide to CDA cost.
Where to buy: start with the Council.
It publishes the Essentials Study Guide Bundle as its exam-study resource, and the Competency Standards book requirement comes from the Council's own candidate materials — so the Council is the source to check for the current edition of your setting's book, and any third-party copy is worth checking against the Council for edition before you buy.
Career information, not licensing or legal advice. The CDA is administered by the Council for Professional Recognition; confirm current credential requirements with the Council, and any state requirement to hold the credential with your state child care licensing agency.
Confirm price, format and edition with the Council

